"
Reviews for SOSS Door Hardware | ATG Stores
Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest

27 reviews

By Robert C. from Wantagh, NY on Aug 02, 2011
Barrel hinges are really nice because they are invisible. However installation is not that simple. First you will need a "Metric" Fostner bit. You can use alertnate bits sizes that are in fractions but some are hard to find. Plus you should make yourself a drilling guide jig or purchase one if you can find it. The holes have to be exactly 90 degrees or you will have trouble with closing the door.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Peter A. from Missouri City, TX on Jun 23, 2015
I used the hinges in a folding tabletop. They are not seen at all, and work exactly as I would like. They look well made, but not strong, but easy to install and perfect for the application. I didn''t look at the instructions - it was quite clear how they needed to be installed.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Ross M. from Morrow, OH on May 21, 2015
SOSS hinges_very happy with the product and the timely manner in which i recieved them. Thank you.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Mark K. from Minneapolis, MN on Apr 02, 2015
These hinges do a great job, but are not the easiest items to install. The tolerances for installing these hinges are much less forgiving than a traditional mortise hinge, although the finished product is great. They are surprisingly solid for as small as they are.

The installation guide works well, but you need to know what your doing and have proper bit sizes and a sharp chisel on hand.
How would you rank the instructions?
Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
SOSS Door Hardware 204 Invisible Door Hinge
worked great and was fairly easy to install
By Mark G. from Highland Park, IL on Jan 13, 2015
I was replacing a broken hinge so installation was easy. The quality of the SoSS hinge was much better than the one I was replacing and since the sizing was the same there was no cutting or scraping to make it fit. It works great
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Ted R. from Eagle, ID on Dec 30, 2014
Excellent product, great for what it is designed to do. A little difficult to install for the average do it yourselfer, unless you have all of the right tools.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Robert D. from East Windsor Hill, CT on Nov 05, 2014
I used the SOSS Hinges for an antique desk restoration. Since they were a replacement for SOS Hinges I did not need to cut the mortises. I would recommend the router template that is made by SOSS versus cutting the mortises by hand. It is very important that the mortises be tight for the hinges to work properly and mortising of both surfaces must be exact. This is the only invisible hinge.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Winsome C. from North Baldwin, NY on Oct 08, 2014
Quality was good. measurement perfect considering it was for a home approximately 50 years olf.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Susan S. from Clarkdale, AZ on Sep 11, 2014
These hinges are well made and sturdy. Easy to install and come with instruction.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
SOSS Door Hardware 220 Invisible Door Hinge
soss door hardware 220 invisible door hinge
By Mark D. from West Camp, NY on Jul 02, 2014
This is a heavy duty concealed hinge that works great and does what its suppose to
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By T G. from Rapid City, SD on Jun 18, 2014
Does what it is supposed to
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
By T G. from Rapid City, SD on Jun 18, 2014
Well made, works well
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Matthew F. from Stroudsburg, PA on May 28, 2013
I bought these barrel hinges to replace older barrel hinges that broke in our kitchen cabinets. These arrived fast, were a perfect fit, and easy to install.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By larry s. from jacksonville, OR on Jan 01, 2013
Hard to find item in our town but one click had a selection. Correct product and timely mailing.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Kent K. from Naperville, IL on Oct 31, 2012
This is a very well made product which, after having installed them, have proven to be exactly what I needed and exactly as advertised. I used them to conceal crawl space access with shelving in my basement remodel. There are two shelves each having to support a total of 150# which they do witn no noticable sagging.

A word of cauttion:

Having intermediate carpentry skills, I would not attemt to install them without a router and router template. If I were SOSS, I would include the template with each order. It's under $10 but the directions tell you you can do it with a drill and saw but I personally would have difficuly getting the kind of accuracy needed using this method. Addiotnally, I could not find a router bit long enough to mortice the entire hinge. You will have to get creative with the last inch or so of the morice.
How would you rank the instructions?
Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Tanya from Ohio on Oct 30, 2012
We have these on our office doors at work and I have to say it is so much nicer to be able to get through a door when your hands are full as all I have to do is bump the handle and it opens. I have a bad wrist and turning handles causes it to hurt, but with this handle I do not have the issue. I would definitely recommend this to everyone.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Janet from West Unity, Ohio on Oct 30, 2012
Have had a SOSS UltraLatch door handle for a year and could not be happier with it.
The retrofit installation went smoothly but had to use instructions.
The plating is as good as the day installed.
Great for elderly father who has trouble with lever handles and cannot use knobs.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Tom P. from Acworth, GA on Oct 15, 2012
Easy to navigate site, shipped exact, good prices and excellent follow up.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Jan F. from Salem, OR on Mar 21, 2012
I have used Soss hinges and they are great. Didn't remember that they were metric. Was planing on using them on a beaded face frame and door, but didn't plan well because the setback wasn't enough to drill our through the reveal on the bead.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Joseph B. from DANVILLE, PA on Nov 24, 2011
Good quality at a good price. Hinges have tight joints and fit a 14mm hole snug. Locked in place with no problems.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
SOSS Door Hardware 212 Invisible Door Hinge
review of 212 - soss invisible hinge
By Timothy M W. from Memphis, TN on Nov 23, 2011
This customer did not write a text review.
How would you rank the instructions?
Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Thomas B. from Raleigh, NC on Nov 23, 2011
I bought this hinge to replace a broken hinge. The online dimensions were perfect and easy to under stand. I bought the right hinge and it slipped right in.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Robert P. from Siloam Springs, AR on Oct 14, 2011
I had a spesific job in mind and these filled the bill just fine
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Donald C. from Mooresville, IN on Oct 13, 2011
This customer did not write a text review.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Gregg G. from Carmichael, CA on Oct 11, 2011
Perfect hardware for bi-fold doors on a base cabinet set in a corner with limited space. Easy to install using the soss jig. No visible hardware where the doors meet, very clean appearance.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By ENRIQUE A P. from Chula Vista Ca, CA on Aug 28, 2011
Thank you very much for an excellent deal
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Jonathan F. from Douglasville, GA on Jul 13, 2011
As a DIYer, I often run into situations that require very specific hardware to make things work out as needed. This little hinge was perfect for my most recent project. The quality was great, price with shipping was a little high for two small hinges but worth it given the specific need.... hinge is well constructed, finish is good, smooth operation etc. all around good product and shipped fast....
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items See More

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Sign Up and Save 10%

Don't miss our design tips, savings and special offers! Join the ATGStores.com email list!


You are consenting to receive marketing emails from ATGStores.com. You can unsubscribe any time by using the unsubscribe link in our marketing emails, contacting us at ATG Stores, 11410 NE 122nd Way, Ste. 200, Kirkland WA 98034 or via email at Privacy@atgstores.com.

Give Us Feedback

(Optional)
Get Help
Call Us: 1-888-500-9541
Based in Washington State.
Live Chat
Get live customer service.
Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm; Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
1001
Server: EASTWEB131 Created On: 9/1/2015 1:43:38 PM