Reviews for First Watch Security 1148 Passage Door Latch Set | ATG Stores
Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest
Average Customer Review
4 out of 5
Read all 33 customer reviews
Write a Review

33 reviews

nice looking handle, does not fit standard door
By from on Apr 20, 2012
These handles look great. I would have easily given them 5 stars if they fit a standard door bore hole, but they do not. The nails in the rosette are 2 inches apart and a standard bore hole is 2 1/8 inches. I had to buy bore hole inserts online in order for them to fit. But for the price, it was still cheaper to do that then order different glass handles.
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Michael w. from Remlap, AL on Oct 01, 2015
We are building our house and these did not work with our new doors. We have had to improvise our doors to make them work. These are for replacement door knobs, it says on the package, but I didn''t notice that on the website. just FYI
Was this review helpful to you?  
glass doorknobs
By Theresa A. from Kingsville, MO on Sep 16, 2015
Good product.
Was this review helpful to you?  
good value but need to do some fairly easy modifications
By John T. from Athens, GA on Sep 13, 2015
Bore another cross bore from salvage door (Habitat or other salvage) and glue/cement in. Re-bore the lock slide and then re-bore crossbore 3/4 " for spindle. Be careful to align everything before you bore the holes but not difficult. Need to make sure new rosette covers the re-paired borehole.
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Lise B. from Calhoun, GA on Sep 11, 2015
Two of the eight glass door nobs have pulled off. We have tried super glue, gorilla glue and epoxy but nothing seems to hold. I would not buy this product again.
Was this review helpful to you?  
replacement door latch set
By Kathy W. from Sacramento, CA on May 26, 2015
I have an old home. I wanted to replace the broken door knobs and latches without having to drill holes in the original doors. I bought 10 of these sets. I had 6 interior doors that had a 1/2 inch bore hole for the original spindles. Most door latch sets I found were very pricy, then I found this product. It was very reasonably priced. I installed it quickly without having to drill anything. Just used the screwdriver and within minutes I was done. They look and work great. One warning I would give if you are buying this product to be used for predrilled doors with a standard bore hole. Make sure you also buy the bore reducers or your rosettes will not fit. I bought the reducers on this site as well for the other 4 doors I had that had been drilled to accommodate a modern knob set. The reducers worked great and fit perfectly in the bore hole and behind the rosettes. I had to first drill 2 holes in it to match the rosette holes then I screwed the rosettes into the bore reducer and then I was able to put it all together. I now have all matching interior knobs and they look beautiful.
Was this review helpful to you?  
enter review title here
By Laura B. from Leadville, CO on Apr 09, 2015
Great product, especially for the price.
Was this review helpful to you?  
passage door latch set
By Barbara M. from Hudson, NH on Mar 23, 2015
Very difficult to install. Does not turn well does not latch. I love the look.
Was this review helpful to you?  
1920's renovation
By Randi L O. from East Moriches, NY on Mar 20, 2015
Looks good. Used original back plates on facing side and the round back-plate on inside of door.
Was this review helpful to you?  
enter review title here
By Jeff L. from Indianapolis, IN on Mar 11, 2015
I was looking for a glass knob passage set to coordinate with other glass knobs in my 1925 house. These did the trick and the price could not be beat.
Was this review helpful to you?  
enter review title here
By Sandra C. from Cedar Rapids, IA on Jan 19, 2015
Got exactly what I was looking for! Perfect color & size. Been looking for these for knobs for years!
Price was reasonable shipping was free, arrived when it was supposed to. Wish all my orders could be this perfect. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful to you?  
door knob
By Toby M. from Nampa, ID on Dec 04, 2014
Didn't fit my door but it's all good. Shipped quickly and was exactly what i ordered. No issues at all and i will be ordering from this company again.
Was this review helpful to you?  
nice door knobs but need to be for non cut doors
By Barbara M. from Franklin, OH on Nov 25, 2014
They are not for existing doors, they need to be used on non cut doors
Was this review helpful to you?  
nice quality. looks great since i have multilples. tricky if existing doors have locks an
By Howard B. from Morganville, NJ on Nov 25, 2014
The existing holes were too large for these to screw the knobs on. I had to fabricate a round filler block and glue into the lock hole. The plate covered all. Then treat the install as almost a new lock and redrill. The first one took longer because I had to solve the issue. The second went much faster.
Was this review helpful to you?  
inexpensive glass door knobs
By Aimee D. from Bertram, TX on Oct 24, 2014
These were nice door knobs to use around the less seen areas of our house. We bought more expensive door knobs for other areas of the house. These worked well.
Was this review helpful to you?  
very good reproduction
By Ronald M. from Waynesville, NC on Oct 08, 2014
We needed these for replacement for our 100+ year old church classroom doors. They worked perfectly, and I would say function, finish and fit were very good to perfect. A couple of minor details would have made them 5 star. But, certainly they did the job and we were fortunate to be able to get them, and they were not cost prohibitive....an excellent value for the money.. Delivery was great.
Was this review helpful to you?  
adjustment needed to install knobs
By Jayne J. from Madison, VA on Sep 19, 2014
These beautiful knob sets do not include the usual "sleeve" as part of the rosette. In order for the installation screws to have something to screw into, my installer had to put blocks in the doors and it made it harder to keep the sets level in the hole. It is fixable, but the purchaser needs to know this will be necessary when using this hardware on already-drilled-doors. The website picture is accurate, but I did not know enough to recognize the design issue when I ordered them. If I had not had a carpenter here for other work, I would have had to return the hardware.
Was this review helpful to you?  
title for your review*
By Sheri S. from Lincoln, NE on Sep 15, 2014
I received my product very quickly. Ordering was easy. I love the quality of the door knobs I rodered, however, they are not the right size and I will probably be returning unless I can figure out how to install.
Was this review helpful to you?  
these are beautiful
By Donna R. from Frisco, TX on Aug 26, 2014
So glad I ordered the crystal over just satin nickle, it makes the door look so much more special.
Was this review helpful to you?  
how to brighten up a room
By Catharine L. from Alpine, TX on Aug 26, 2014
I bought these glass door sets to replace these 1970s dull, boring, ugly door sets in my rental house. It is an old house with lots of ugly installed over the years. These glass door knobs really brightened up the whole house. I would totally recommend them. Best purchase I have made all year.
Was this review helpful to you?  
great hardware
By Cara S. from Boonville, IN on Aug 25, 2014
The handle is an excellent quality handle. The finish is exactly what we thought. Very good deal for the price.
Was this review helpful to you?  
great solution for the price
By Leto Q. from Boulder, CO on Aug 11, 2014
I am at the tail end of a big whole-home renovation, and was delighted to find this budget-friendly doorknob set as I create my decorative finishing touches. I have installed them throughout the house now; the look is classic and so far, they feel like they will hold up well (I've only been using them for about a week). But, as other reviewers have mentioned, installation in a standard bore door requires a little creativity because of the way the screws on the rosettes are configured. Still the extra time and modest extra cost of making these work was well worth the savings compared to other products at 4-6x the cost for the same cosmetic and functional end result.
Was this review helpful to you?  
title for your review*
By Tracy W. from Clayton, NC on Aug 06, 2014
Good value. Glass knob heavy to feel. Great for what I needed. Hard to find brushed nickel finish.
Was this review helpful to you?  
nice knobs
By Michele from Middleboro, MA on Jul 14, 2014
I bought these in Satin Nickel finish, definitely best value for the buck compared to the big-box DIY stores. After reading other reviews I also bought item 1165-SN (bore adapters) so that these would fit my (standard) pre-drilled doors. If you need a bore adapter, try another one that does come with pre-drilled holes - the item I got does not.

These are easy to install, just be sure to loosen the "set screw" on the knobs before attempting to tighten or you may run into the issue one reviewer had (someone said they had to cut the knob shaft as it was too long - they must not have loosened the set screws) these are standard length shafts, and tighten nicely.
Was this review helpful to you?  
fabulous replacement set
By Mary S. from Chatham, MA on Feb 27, 2014
I have an old house with wooden doors. These are an excellent replacement set that installs easily and fit perfectly. These are NOT designed for pre-drilled doors. But for my wooden doors they perfect, and are the right style and finish. 5 minutes to install!
Just ordered 5 more passage sets for the house.
Free shipping is a plus.
Was this review helpful to you?  
great product!!
By Jamie L B. from Milltown, NJ on Feb 13, 2014
This it exactly what I was looking for to update my old knobs!
Was this review helpful to you?  
service and value
By Joann R. from Redford, MI on Feb 07, 2014
The door knob was exactly what I needed. It was not only a good price but was delivered in good condidtion and in a timely manor. Thank you for providing a good product.
Was this review helpful to you?  
nice old looking door knob.
By Regie C. from Winnsboro, LA on Feb 05, 2014
It is what it says it is and what I was looking for. Works great for my door in my old home.
Was this review helpful to you?  
need to provide adapters for modern doors
By Allie P. from Wichita, KS on Jan 16, 2014
Decent product. I was unable to find adapters mentioned in previous reviews, so I had to fabricate some wooden blocks to screw the covers on to.
Was this review helpful to you?  
first watch security glass latch set
By Eric L. from Oceanside, NY on Jan 06, 2014
This door knob set does not fit the standard size- pre cut doors.
Also, there is no inner mechanism, only a threaded rod with set screws. The rod is too long for a standard door width & has to cut to size. The two holes in the mounting plates do not fit the door holes. I had to make door hole inserts to screw into.
Was this review helpful to you?  
great product
By Vicki P. from Savannah, GA on Aug 13, 2013
I am very happy with this product. I only had one issue which was the existing opening for the door handle. The opening was slightly larger than the replacement knobs. Measure the medallion before ordering to make sure it will fit. They look great easily installed overall I am very happy with this product.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items See More

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Sign Up and Save 5%

Don't miss our design tips, savings and special offers! Join the ATGStores.com email list!

You are consenting to receive marketing emails from ATGStores.com. You can unsubscribe any time by using the unsubscribe link in our marketing emails, contacting us at ATG Stores, 11410 NE 122nd Way, Ste. 200, Kirkland WA 98034 or via email at Support@atgstores.com.

Give Us Feedback

Get Help
Call Us: 1-888-500-9541
Based in Washington State.
Live Chat
Get live customer service.
Hours of Operation
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm; Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
Server: WWW80 Created On: 11/27/2015 8:05:53 PM