Reviews for Pearl Mantels 412 Shenandoah Wall/Mantel Shelf | ATG Stores
Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest
Average Customer Review
5 out of 5
Read all 26 customer reviews
Write a Review

26 reviews

great mantel, especially for the price!
By Matt S. from Roanoke, TX on Dec 06, 2011
I bought this in the 72" size, unfinished. I was afraid that it would not have the "distressed" look that is advertised for the stained version, but it did! Once stained, it has a very nice, rustic finish and looks AMAZING above the fireplace. Very classy, yet rustic.

Came out of the box 100% clean and ready to stain. No saw dust, no dirt, just open box and stain away. 3 coats of stain-&-poly and it was ready to go.

Be aware: the mantel is not a solid piece of wood as you might expect. In fact, it is actually assembled from 5 pieces (3 long pieces to form the main shape, and 2 end cap pieces). I was worried that the edges would reveal this, but after staining, you simply can't tell. It looks incredible, and it actually rather light which makes it easy to mount on the wall.

I would definitely recommend this mantel.
Was this review helpful to you?  
shenandoah mantle shelf
By Doris D. from St. Petersburg, FL on Mar 02, 2009
I waited 5 years to get a mantle shelf and this was worth the wait! It is BEAUTIFUL! Exactly what I wanted, chunky, high quality, easy to install. And... I got it exactly when I was told I was going to receive it. I needed it installed over 2 layers of porcelain tile so I had my contractor do it but, a good do-it-yourselfer would have no problem installing this shelf.
Was this review helpful to you?  
pleased with product
By barry b. from winston-salem, NC on Oct 09, 2008
Very pleased with mantel we received. Good price and shipped quickly. Good experience!!!
Was this review helpful to you?  
just what i wanted
By Frances B. from NC on Aug 26, 2015
Pottery Barn look for less! Very easy to install!
Was this review helpful to you?  
love it!
By Mark K. from Danville, CA on Jun 22, 2015
It looks even better in person.
Was this review helpful to you?  
pearl mantel
By Amy R. from Lafayette, CO on Apr 07, 2015
Perfect product! Looks great with the ledger stone..Service was 5 star also..saved $160.00 online vs price local in fireplace store
Was this review helpful to you?  
good deal
By Dana S. from Atlanta, GA on Mar 17, 2015
This mantle was easy to install, has held up very well for the past few months, and was a good price considering the other ones we saw online. It looks a little pre-fab; not terribly authentic, but from a distance it is a very nice looking mantle.
Was this review helpful to you?  
pearl shenedoah medium rustic distressed
By Brendan O. from Roseville, CA on Mar 13, 2015
Great product, good price, easy to install, a bit darker than the picture on the internet
Was this review helpful to you?  
great service and quality
By Megan M. from Spring, TX on Feb 03, 2015
I'd been looking at this mantel and did a lot of price and quality research before purchasing it. It arrived at our house two days after I ordered it. The service from ATG was exceptional. The mantel was was easy to install and looks beautiful. It was a great purchase.
Was this review helpful to you?  
great new mantle
By Michael G. from Manzanita, OR on Jan 26, 2015
Very good quality and very easy to install.
Was this review helpful to you?  
very nice mantel!!!
By Tricia O. from Mount Kisco, NY on Jan 04, 2015
It was very easy to install and just the look we wanted. We bought it unfinished and my husband stained it to match our book shelf. It looks fantastic!! I would not however put anything heavy on top of mantel because it is only held by a thin piece of wood attached on wall. I still highly recommend!
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Charles H. from Waconia, MN on Dec 18, 2014
Although we have not installed it yet I can say that it is absolutely beautiful! Don't hesitate with this mantel. The finish is great and the manufacturer did a excellent job with the distressed look. I did a lot of research and found ATG Stores to have the best price with promo code. Fast shipping too.
Was this review helpful to you?  
mantel pearl 412 unfinished
By Charles D. from Waterloo, IA on Dec 11, 2014
The Mantel came well packed .
I finished it in a Chestnut finish and it looks great.
Use a Minwax Pre-stain first, before you stain,because this is made from three pieces of pine
and if you don't it will not look like one peice of wood.
Was this review helpful to you?  
shenandoah mantel shelf
By James T. from Park Ridge, IL on Dec 10, 2014
Looks very nice on the wall above our fireplace, just in time to hang the stocking for Christmas.
Was this review helpful to you?  
good looking mantel
By Kevin L. from Palmyra, VA on Aug 26, 2013
We looked for an attractive, easy to install mantel for months before selecting this one. It looks great and was very easy to install. Very sturdy.
Was this review helpful to you?  
great value, but could use some improvements
By Matthew S. from Londonderry, NH on Dec 26, 2012
I had purchased this mantel unfinished as my wife an I wanted to stain it a specific color. Overall, I am very impressed with the craftsmanship of the product. However, one problem we ran into was with staining. Although it may not be obvious from the description, this is not a solid piece of wood. It is multiple pieces mitered, glued, and nailed together. The nail holes were filled with a non-stainable filler. As a result, there are some spotty areas where it did not take the color. Luckily, they are on the ends where few people would notice.

Lastly, I wish there was a better way to hang the mantel. It uses a traditional method of using a hidden cleat which you secure to the wall and literally hang the mantel. While this works well, it does not feel very solid. I will probably have to add some additional fasteners directly to the mantel to make it more stable.
Was this review helpful to you?  
eased apprehension of ordering on-line
By Stephen B. from Tigard, OR on Jan 09, 2012
Spending $250 On-line with an out-of-state company that you have never heard of can be daunting. However, I was absolutely delighted with the professionalism shown by Lighting Universe. I was kept in the loop (by e-mail)from the moment my order was placed. I could track my package and even over the Holiday period, it arrived at my door exactly as predicted.

I was pleased too with the quality of the merchandise. I had read other reviews and was already expecting a box type structure and that it was made in China... Not an issue for me, a coat of stain and a few coats of poly and it looks stunning.

I did have an issue with the hanging system provided - probably my wall was uneven, so I built a simple frame from regular wall studs and slipped the shelf onto it.

Overall Delighted with service & quality. May be a tad expensive for a pine box, but it's nicely jointed and finishes up well even without sanding down.
Was this review helpful to you?  
review of 412 - the shenandoah shelf
By Kim M. from EVANS, GA on Dec 12, 2011
Delivery was within a couple days of the order! It looks heavy but is very lightweight so easy to stain, finish and mount. It is beautiful over the fireplace I love it!!
Was this review helpful to you?  
love the mantel... looks beautiful!
By Daniel W. from Laurel, MD on Nov 21, 2011
Only problem I have with this mantel is... Made in China! I may not have bought it had I known. Still, it looks beautiful on our fireplace.
Was this review helpful to you?  
great product!!
By Mikinzie S. from Monticello, IA on Nov 18, 2011
This mantle is beautiful! Has a rustic look which compliments our fieldstone fireplace surround. Love it!
Was this review helpful to you?  
hill country beautiful!
By Melinda C. from Friendswood, TX on Jul 01, 2011
It's going in a Texas hill country style facility on a tall stone fireplace. Looks polished and rustic at the same time. Gives a custom look without the custom price!
Was this review helpful to you?  
fireplace mantel shelf
By Nancy C. from Killingworth, CT on Jun 18, 2011
The mantel shelf arrived in just a few days and in great condition. Excellent value, great look!!
Was this review helpful to you?  
client loves it!
By Mark L. from Shoreline, WA on Jun 12, 2011
Actual product is exactly as described. Looks great. Arrived with no damage and faster than expected. Would definitely purchase this line of products again.
Was this review helpful to you?  
would buy again
By Bob M. from Woodinville, WA on Jan 25, 2011
Very nice mantle and easy to install. Only problem was the sharp edge when trying to screw in the bolsters, hands still healing.
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Barbara M. from Cazenovia, NY on Aug 03, 2010
We were very pleased with our mantel. It looks great with our stone work and we have it recessed slightly and chose not to use the corbels.
We love it.
Was this review helpful to you?  
shenandoah shelf mantel
By Heather H. from New London, NH on May 14, 2010
Looks beautiful. Really completes field stone background perfectly.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items See More

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Sign Up and Save 5%

Don't miss our design tips, savings and special offers! Join the ATGStores.com email list!

You are consenting to receive marketing emails from ATGStores.com. You can unsubscribe any time by using the unsubscribe link in our marketing emails, contacting us at ATG Stores, 11410 NE 122nd Way, Ste. 200, Kirkland WA 98034 or via email at Support@atgstores.com.

Give Us Feedback

Get Help
Call Us: 1-888-500-9541
Based in Washington State.
Live Chat
Get live customer service.
Hours of Operation
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm; Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
Server: WWW80 Created On: 11/29/2015 10:22:55 PM