Countdown to Black Friday: |
Can't wait? See our presale deals!
Reviews for Cal Lighting SL-954-5 5 Light Serpentine Track Lighting Kit | ATG Stores
Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest
Average Customer Review
4.5 out of 5
Read all 113 customer reviews
Write a Review

113 reviews

nice looking light.
By Timothy L. from Reading, PA on Dec 26, 2007
Very nice light with great looking glass shades. Was easy to install and everything came in one box. What a great value compared to the junk the Lowe's and Home Depot is selling.
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Nouna N. from Oklahoma City, OK on Aug 03, 2008
I would suggest installing a dimmer switch with this track light. The five 50 watt halogens get a bit too bright and hot if the light is installed on a lower ceiling. Love the look and style of this fixture.
Was this review helpful to you?  
great deal
By S. from Midland, MI on Nov 24, 2007
Great quality for the price. We have now purchased several more track lights etc. A nice alternative to the ultra contemporary chrome black or white tracks you usually see. Easy to install.
Was this review helpful to you?  
kitchen light
By Ashlee N. from Gainesville, TX on Oct 17, 2007
I like this light but the glass shades are kind of small. I thought they would be bigger. Also, they are solid and don't let a lot of light through!
Was this review helpful to you?  
very stylish and lots of options
By Betsy B. from Springville, PA on Aug 02, 2008
We wanted a track type lighting system that didn't cost a fortune, had colored glass shades, a dark bronze finish, could accomodate a high sloped ceiling, and lit our kitchen area adequately. This light did it all! It was a little rough to install due to the design and my big fingers but overall it took less than an hour and we are extremely pleased with the look and the light quality. The swivel to accomodate the sloped ceiling and the down rods provided made it possible to place the fixture where we needed it without the expense of buying separate kits. Shipped very fast also.
Was this review helpful to you?  
excellent experience on line
By Aura K. from Bronx, NY on Jul 27, 2007
Both the fixture and service were more than I expected.
Good price, easy to find what I wanted and easy to order.
Was this review helpful to you?  
did the trick
By Daniel D. from Downingtown, PA on Sep 19, 2008
The lights are really nice installed but putting the bulbs in the sockets was difficult. The bulbs flop around in the socket even when locked in. It's fine if you never have to replace the bulbs but I'd be worried if I did.
Was this review helpful to you?  
pleased with purchase
By Laura L. from Joliet, IL on Jul 29, 2008
I found the light to be what I was looking for. It was a great price for what I got.
Was this review helpful to you?  
pretty nice
By Robert R. from Miami, FL on Jul 16, 2008
Installed in my home office. A bit of a pain to install the shades and bulbs, but a nice fixture.
Was this review helpful to you?  
love my new kitchen light!
By Karla K. from Collierville, TN on Jul 02, 2008
If it doesn't say so in the instructions(my husband put it together) I would advise putting the light bulbs and glass light covers on before hooking it up to the electrical wires. It will be very cumbersome to change lightbulbs!. Also, I have the red light covers which do cast a slightly reddish glow, but not bad. The light has really modernized my kitchen!
Was this review helpful to you?  
By Jessie J. from Riley, MI on Jun 24, 2008
This product was perfect for our new kitchen and I plan on ordering more light fixtures for the rest of my house through this website.
Was this review helpful to you?  
great price, simple to install
By Cheryl M. from Grass Valley, CA on Apr 02, 2008
We ordered this light for our new winecellar and it was great! Very easy to install, all in one box, bulbs and all, and a very good value for the money. It looks just like we wanted it to!
Was this review helpful to you?  
run very hot.
By Michael B. from Haverhill, MA on May 09, 2011
Overall the product was as described and arrived in a timely manor. My biggest concern is that the lights get very very hot and have a smell of burning when on. I don't leave them on for too long since I am concerned about the heat and smell. I think the "burn off smell" should be done by now since I have run them for more than a total of ten hours. I will keep an eye on them but am not too trusting when it comes to such heat.
Was this review helpful to you?  
nice fixture
By Thomas R. from Lancaster, PA on Apr 19, 2011
Great product and value. Operates on line voltage (120 volt); it doesn’t require a transformer that can burn out.
Assembly is easy and the glass shades give off a nice glow. I would recommend installing a dimmer switch to control the level of light to suit your preference. Shipping was a bit slow and one of the glass shades was broken but on the up-side, customer service was great and promptly arranged for a replacement shade that arrived quickly.
I would definitely buy from them again.
Was this review helpful to you?  
combination of style and quality
By james J. from Yardley, PA on Jul 11, 2009
This track package was the perfect for our multi-purpose play/office area. Although contemporary in appearance it is simple enough to fit well in our Craftsman style home.
Was this review helpful to you?  
five light serpentine
By Rebecca D. from Cleveland, OH on Jun 04, 2009
This product is very nice. We installed it on a beam over the island in our kitchen and it looks terrific. However, the halogen lights are very bright, and tend to shine in my eyes. I plan to install a dimmer on the switch which should help the problem, but I wish I had considered having it hang a bit lower. We did not leave the wires long enough to alter it now. If possible, I suggest activating it before the permanent installation is completed and trying different heights.
Was this review helpful to you?  
good product
By Al A. from N/A on Feb 11, 2009
Assembly instructions are the weakest problem with this product. The halogen lights to be inserted are for people with small hands and long fingers, if that is possible. The washers which secure the globes could be a little smoother and easier to install.
Was this review helpful to you?  
5-light serpentine light fixture
By Stan S. from St. Augustine, FL on Jan 26, 2009
Color, appearance, & style are what I was looking for. Price seems a bit high. Assembly & installation was easy, assuming you have decent handyman/woman skills. The only part that could use better quality control are the threaded collars that hold the shades in place. Most of them twisted on pretty easy but one was almost impossible to start. I had to remove some very rough edges on the inside threads of the collar itself, followed by cleaning out the threads(using a toothbrush)to get it to start easily on the lamp bulb base. Once I got it started it twisted down just fine. Although this seems like a minor problem, if the collar can't be twisted onto the bulb base, the shade can't be attached to the fixture, leaving one with a fully exposed bulb.
Was this review helpful to you?  
good value
By Jessie J. from Chesterfield, MO on Dec 19, 2008
I am mostly satisfied with this product. We ordered the red glass shades. Four out of five of the shades are the same. The fifth is a slightly different shade of red. The design is very sleek and modern - I like it.
Was this review helpful to you?  
hard to screw in
By Deborah D. from New York, NY on Oct 10, 2008
The fixture is lovely, but it is difficult to affix the glass globes to the structure - they have to be screwed on inside the glass - which is difficult to do when the structure is mounted. My electrician and I had to take the structure down, and even then it was tricky to screw the bulbs on. I do not look forward to changing the light bulbs.
Was this review helpful to you?  
love this light!!!
By Rhonda B. from Saint Cloud, MN on Jan 11, 2015
This wasn't my first choice of track lighting, but it worked with my sloped/valted ceiling. Customer service was VERY helpful, the light came on time & in perfect condition & we absolutely love it!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?  
nice fixture, but average for the price.
By Letitia M E. from West Salem, WI on Oct 19, 2014
The finish of the fixture is very attractive and overall seems to be good quality. However, after having it installed 2 months ago, I still cannot leave it on for more than 10 minutes without an overpowering burning plastic smell overtaking the house (I assume it comes from the screw-on plastic rings that hold the cans in place. They get warm when the fixture is in use). Also, I have purchased other similar fixtures from big-box stores for less than $100 that are just as attractive. This one is not worth the extra money, especially since I can't stand to leave it on for extended periods.
Was this review helpful to you?  
beautiful fixture for my new kitchen
By Janet Z. from Brooklyn, NY on Jun 12, 2014
Love the look of this fixture. I was concerned when I ordered about the fragility of the glass shades but they are actually quite thick (dual layer of colored glass on the outside and thick white inner glass) so quite sturdy, and they came very well packed. Not really difficult to install but haven't had to change any bulbs yet--be sure to retain the rubber "bulb changer" and the "key" in a safe place, they really helped with installation. I do have this on a dimmer but I don't find it overly bright even at full strength in my small kitchen. I have the red/black swirl shades and they do give a bit of a reddish tinge to the radient light, but within the spot of each lamp the light is fine.
Was this review helpful to you?  
well worth the wait
By Jennifer C. from Oviedo, FL on Aug 22, 2013
It took several months for this light to ship (was backordered repeatedly) but it was well worth the wait. It is a beautiful addition to my kitchen. It seems to be well made and was easy to install. The quality is much better than other fixtures I have purchased in the last year.
Was this review helpful to you?  
nice look, soft light.
By James M. M. from Lake Mary, FL on Aug 12, 2013
We got the white with amber shades and like the overall look. The shades are smaller than expected, even after reading that in reviews. Be sure to install the bulbs before putting the fixture up and keep the small device for putting in the bulbs. This replaced another track light and went up easily. The only down side is that even with 5 lights, it is not very bright. The light is soft and subdued. Since we put it in our kitchen eating area it is a nice contrast to our bright kitchen lights, but not what we expected. We no longer need to use a dimmer.
Was this review helpful to you?  
track lighting
By Larry G. from Westport, WA on Dec 24, 2012
It was easy to install and it works and looks great. I am thinking on buying another one.
Was this review helpful to you?  
great light!
By Amy R. from NY on Dec 13, 2012
This light was purchased for a kitchen remodel. It gives off great light and I am able to point the lights in any direction I need to. This is the perfect light and we couldn't be happier. Great value too!
Was this review helpful to you?  
excellent light
By steve darrin k. from saint bonifacius, MN on Nov 28, 2012
Quality light. easy to install. some reviews people complain about installing the shades and the bulbs but i had no problem with the tools that are provided.worth the price. very attractive light
Was this review helpful to you?  
excellent purchase
By Peggy L. from Rockford, IL on Aug 10, 2012
Purchased track lighting kit for our kitchen. It was received in reasonable time, and in good condition. My husband and I installed it ourselves and found the directions easy to follow. We love our new lighting and would not hesitate to buy from this company in the future.
Was this review helpful to you?  
cal lighting sl-954-5 5 light serpentine
By Robert T. from Dunnellon, FL on May 18, 2012
Received item as expected...looks and works great. I'm installing a dimmer, 250 watts is bright and emits a lot of heat. The brigtness and heat issues are not negative comments about this fixture, just basic physics. The same issues would apply with any 250 watt fixture. One nice thing about this fixture is the heat is not concentrated around the junction box. I've seen wiring in boxes that cracked when bent due to over heating...not an issue with this fixture.
Was this review helpful to you?  
looks great... took a long time to get... instructions left a lot to be desired
By Jael H. from Papillion, NE on Mar 28, 2012
Looks Great... Took a Long Time To Get... Instructions Left a Lot To Be Desired
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items See More

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Sign Up and Save 5%

Don't miss our design tips, savings and special offers! Join the ATGStores.com email list!

You are consenting to receive marketing emails from ATGStores.com. You can unsubscribe any time by using the unsubscribe link in our marketing emails, contacting us at ATG Stores, 11410 NE 122nd Way, Ste. 200, Kirkland WA 98034 or via email at Support@atgstores.com.

Give Us Feedback

Get Help
Call Us: 1-888-500-9541
Based in Washington State.
Live Chat
Get live customer service.
Hours of Operation
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm; Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
Server: EASTWEB135 Created On: 11/24/2015 3:04:43 PM