Reviews for House of Troy GP1 Grand Piano Lamp | ATG Stores
Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest

10 reviews

"tipsy" gp -- grand piano lamp
By Don D. from St Petersburg, FL on Feb 11, 2009
The piano lamp on our grand piano provides the proper lighting to read the sheet music.

Why do I call it a "tipsy" piano lamp? A few hours after using the lamp, the right side (where the on-off switch is) has tipped down and ends up about four inches LOWER than the left side. I raise the right side so that the lamp is again level and it stays there -- for another few hours. And then the right side again ends up about four inches LOWER than the left side. Said another way, on its own, the lamp rotates clockwise about thirty degrees over the period of a few hours and comes to rest in that tipped position.

I know, you don't believe me. No one else does, either.

Thanks, anyway, for your attention.

Don Duke
Was this review helpful to you?  
review of gp - grand piano lamps
By Lawrence M B. from Rehoboth Beach, DE on Sep 28, 2010
The grand piano lamp was shipped promptly and well packaged. I have a 100 year old grand in my living room and the lamp looks great on it. I added a line-dimmer and that works well. Now the sheet music lights up the world - only wish my playing was as good - I'll try harder now that I can see the notes.
Was this review helpful to you?  
i love this lamp
By Walter W. from Sunnyside, NY on Sep 18, 2008
This grand piano lamp is the best decorative and functional option for music desk illumination at home.
Was this review helpful to you?  
grand piano lamp
By Brian O. from Bluffton, SC on Mar 31, 2008
Arrived on time and in excellent condition.
Was this review helpful to you?  
not enought illumination
By Conoco Piano Lamps from Irvine on May 30, 2012
I think the lamp has good clip on design and the brass color is OK for my honey wood colored grand piano. But one T10 light bulb just does not generate enough illuminationo for my music. I returned this and got another brands that come with LED from Conoco Piano Lamps (find easily from Google).
Was this review helpful to you?  
satisfied customer
By Jon H C. from Cheyenne, WY on Feb 06, 2012
The piano lamp works like it is supposed to and looks great. What more can I ask? In one of the reviews, someone said it would tilt and have to be repositioned. I have not had that problem even though we put a spacer in the top of the part that clips to the music stand on the piano. I wanted a little more room for page turning. It is still nice and sturdy.
Was this review helpful to you?  
excellent piano lamp for the conscientious pianist
By Steve E. from Brooklyn, NY on Jul 01, 2010
I've used this lamp basically every day since I got it a year ago. It fits beautifully on the music desk and gives plenty of light. I've had no problem with the switch or the bulb (it's still the original bulb from a year ago).

There is ample space from the top of the lamp to the top of most pieces of music so there's never been any need to fold over a sheet. I recommend this lamp for any pianist who has to read music and plays a lot.

I'm also pleased with the aesthetic quality, the bronze or gold color matching very well with our walnut Knabe 5/8" grand. The felt inside the clip on clamp works beautifully and I've never tightened the screws.

For me, this is an excellent product all around.

Was this review helpful to you?  
grand piano lamp
By Karen N. from Surprise, AZ on Sep 17, 2009
I like the lamp, however, the socket had been assembled off center so I was unable to screw in the bulb. By gently bending the socket, I was finally able to screw in the bulb, but when I turned the lamp on, the 40 watt bulb blew out, presumably because it was touching the foil strip that covered a screw. I bent the socket a bit more, used a small wedge to keep the bulb from touching the foil, inserted a 25 watt bulb and it now works fine. Instructions suggest a 60 watt bulb, but that would be much too bright and too hot. I find the 25 watt sufficient.
Was this review helpful to you?  
finally found this light!
By M'Lissa C. from Coupeville, WA on Jun 10, 2009
We had been looking for a replacement light for our piano at church and finally found it here online. I did receive it promptly, and since it just sits on the music stand on the piano, there is no assembly needed. I thought I ordered it in the polish brass finish (as shown in the picture) but when it arrived it was in the statuary bronze finish - which is much better for our situation! I probably would not have picked that color, but if you need a color that won't reflect any stage lighting that you might use - try this one! It works for us!
Was this review helpful to you?  
grand piano light
By Paula P. from Newport Beach, CA on Sep 19, 2008
Excellent light for reading music at the piano. It is not just a grand piano light as it is on the music rack of a spinnet.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items See More

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Sign Up and Save 5%

Don't miss our design tips, savings and special offers! Join the ATGStores.com email list!

You are consenting to receive marketing emails from ATGStores.com. You can unsubscribe any time by using the unsubscribe link in our marketing emails, contacting us at ATG Stores, 11410 NE 122nd Way, Ste. 200, Kirkland WA 98034 or via email at Support@atgstores.com.

Give Us Feedback

Get Help
Call Us: 1-888-500-9541
Based in Washington State.
Live Chat
Get live customer service.
Hours of Operation
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm; Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
Server: WWW130 Created On: 11/28/2015 1:14:21 PM