1.888.500.9541
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
LIVE CHAT
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
Reviews for Smedbo
Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest

148 reviews

Adrien
New York City
Aug 18, 2009
Smedbo BK073 Single Hook
buyer beware!!!
I purchased 12 of these. So far I have opened 5 and they have all had serious defects. The threads to mount the hook on its bolt are not threaded correctly. These first five are un-usable! I am returning the rest.

The bad news still continues! I called Smedbo to alert them to a problem in their quality control. The receptionist literally hung up on me! Her response was "I am not supposed to talk to you." That is a direct quote. When I asked her if Smedbo's policy on customer service was as flawed as their quality control, she hung up on me. So there is the answer.

I normally do not write product reviews. I do not have time for it. I do architectural renovation in NYC and have a shop where I can fix most faulty products. But Smedbo's return policy and their customer service took the cake. I will never order a single Smedbo product again. I will steer all my clients away from their products. I suggest you do the same.
How would you rank the instructions?
Not Good
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Not Good
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Ed E.
San Diego, CA
Oct 11, 2008
Smedbo Sideline Design Corner Double Soap Basket Shower Caddy
corner soap basket dk2031
The product itself is beautiful. Quality and construction is excellent. Price is kind of high and it did not come with an instruction on how to install it (what size of bit is needed, distance of hole from the corner, etc.) that would make it easier to install.
How would you rank the instructions?
Not Good
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Below Average
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
sue o.
Belmont, CA
Nov 06, 2007
Smedbo 16-in Villa Swing Arm Towel Bar
looks great but not functional
While the design and finish are great, there is a serious design flaw in the mounting bracket. Unlike some other brands, where the mounting bracket has a post that extends into the towel bar where it attaches to the bracket and prevents its from turning, this one only has little "flaps" that hold the bar to the bracket. Unfortunately, as soon as you hang a towel on the bar, it twists from the weight of the towel. Skip this unless you don't mind a crooked towel bar.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Glenn N.
Clinton, CT
Aug 01, 2010
Smedbo 17.5-in House Swing Arm Rail Towel Bar
not stable
It looks great, but try to put a towel on one side and it rotates around the center mounting. I tried to tighten the restraining screw that holds the bar to the mount but it still rotates. Bad design! How can they expect a single screw that is less than 1/8" in diameter to support the cantilevered weight of a towel. The designers needed to put a straining pin along with the screw to prevent it from rotating.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Not Good
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Richard P.
CA
Jun 18, 2009
Smedbo Home Grab Bar
aesthetically pleasing
Unlike most grab bars, which look utilitarian and are therefore visually uninteresting, these actually add to the design of a bathroom; solid good quality, and the engineering of them is excellent
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Pj P.
Holmdel, NJ
Oct 21, 2008
Smedbo Sideline Design Corner Double Soap Basket Shower Caddy
excellent chrome shower basket
This basket was easy to install and holds up well to family use. The finish and size are perfect. It used all available space next to my handheld shower with slide bar.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Ross D.
San Antonio, TX
Jun 20, 2011
Smedbo Living Straight Long Grab Bar
not your typical grab bar
Love the look of these grab bars. If you are wanting something beyond the typical hospital/Home Depot bars for a contemporary look these are good.

Our builder did the install and said it was pretty difficult. They are fairly pricy but a great product with a great look.
How would you rank the instructions?
Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Gordon P.
Brooklyn, NY
May 21, 2010
Smedbo AK344 Air Towel Ring
styles nicely with paper holder
When you buy these products sight unseen you wonder can it live up to the pictures. This was even better than I expected and floats off the wall with a wonderful installation system (I did have to supply my own shorter screws because I was installing it on a 3/4 inch wood wall, but that ended up being no problem). I am more than pleased.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Nikki K. D.
Boynton Beach, FL
Dec 14, 2009
Smedbo Villa Double Towel Hook
villa double towel hook by smedbo
Good points: the ends of the double hook are tipped upwards. The towels hung on the hooks actually stay on!

Bad point: The screw that comes with the hook is so cheap that it was stripped as my husband began to insert it! We had to use our own screw; then we had no problem.
How would you rank the instructions?
Below Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Allison A.
Tolland, CT
Mar 02, 2009
Smedbo Villa Euro Single Post Toilet Tissue Holder
villa euro single post toilet tissue holder
Beautiful brass and goes with our decor wonderfully. Delivery of this item was quick and selection terrific. We had looked at other home improvement stores and didn't find anything close as far as price or quality. We'll shop here again!
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Linda L.
Grand Portage, MN
Feb 25, 2009
Smedbo BK461 Knob
kitty cat knob
These kitty cat knobs are just adorable! Of course they are on the doors to the kitty food. Very sturdy knobs.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Bruce B.
Martinsville, VA
Feb 04, 2009
Smedbo Home Double Towel Hook
tops
Small and unobtrusive yet does the job superbly. Invisible when towel is drapped over it. Perfect for my taste.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Julie J.
Edwards, CO
Nov 19, 2008
Smedbo Sideline Basic Soap Basket Shower Caddy
just like new
The basket looks the same as it did 6 months ago when it was new and is as stable as the day we installed it. Love it!!
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Caroline C.
Nichols Hills, OK
Oct 09, 2008
Smedbo BK071 Triple Spinning Hook
off the hook
These are working great in the cubbies in our mudroom. They allow multiple items to be hung in a limited area.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Gregory G.
Santa Ana, CA
Jun 19, 2008
Smedbo Cabin Swing Arm Towel Bar
great towel rack
Extremely well made small towel bar. Excellent fit and finish. Perfect for my kitchen application. I liked it so well that I bought a second one.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Duncan P J.
puyallup, WA
Feb 06, 2008
Smedbo B576 Flex Pull
smedbo b576 flex pull for drawers or cabinets
This is a BRILLIANT product because it adjusts to fit any hole spacing on drawers or cabinets. We have mutant cabinets with holes on 3.5" centers; most normal hole spacing is smaller at 3" or bigger at 96mm. Thus choices are very limited for us. The Smedbo (also known as Beslags Boden) comes from Sweden and has a very "euro high tech" appearance, which can bring any cabinetry into the 21st century. Expect to see this product on some HGTV remodeling show when they discover it. Note that the pull uses a metric 4mm screw with 0.7 pitch, so if you need longer screws to attach through a thick drawer front you're going to have to go to a specialty fastener shop to find them, and they are not cheap. The brass inserts in the pulls are easily cross-threaded if you don't install gently. Buy an extra pull in case you ruin one and can't machine it back to functionality in your home shop.
How would you rank the instructions?
Below Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
VALERIE L.
EDGARTOWN, MA
May 25, 2007
Smedbo Sideline Basic Soap Basket Shower Caddy
nice item and fast delivery.
Very fast delivery and a great price.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Larry N.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Jan 30, 2007
Smedbo Home Spare Toilet Tissue Holder
nice looking will not hold the double rolls
This paper holder looks nice but it does not hold the double and triple rolls of toilet paper, so if that is what you use don't order this holder
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Elizabeth von R.
Oregon
Oct 20, 2011
Smedbo House Grab Bar
beautiful but very difficult to install
The grab bar has a different mounting assembly from the towel ring in the same product line, but the instructions that came with it were for the towel ring. When I called customer service, the person insisted the mounting assemblies were the same (though I had both fixtures in front of me and they were most definitely NOT the same). It took two professional contractors (4 hands) and different mounting screws that we bought locally to get the thing installed. Contractor said he'd never seen a grab bar that was so difficult to install. That said, it looks lovely now that it's up.
How would you rank the instructions?
Not Good
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
HEIDI M.
FAIRFAX, VA
Apr 05, 2011
Smedbo Sideline Basic Double Soap Basket Shower Caddy
review of dk1031 - sideline basic double soap basket
This customer did not write a text review.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
designer comments
NY
Mar 21, 2011
Smedbo AK325 Air Grab Bar
air grab bar
Beautifully made, heavy weight grab handle. Horizontal installation is best, because the underside has exposed fasteners that would be visible on vertical applications. And, the piece is really not reversible because the brand name is subtly printed upon it. I am, however, using it in both a vertical and horizontal application because the style and size are perfect.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Richard R.
Madison, WI
Jan 26, 2011
Smedbo AK344 Air Towel Ring
review of ak344 - air towel ring
We purchased the towel ring because it was a match with the other towel racks we had purchased. Unfortunately the the towel ring seemed too large and out of scale with the other hardware. It was never installed.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Janet O.
PA
Sep 06, 2010
Smedbo FK254 Outline Soap Dispenser
not a tight fit
Had to screw around with the gasket that holds inner and outer cylinders together and it still isn't as tight a fit as it should be.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Below Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Sherry G.
atlanta, GA
Aug 16, 2010
Smedbo Sideline Basic Double Soap Basket Shower Caddy
singin in the shower
When we bought our condo, we were displeased with the way the master bath's shower lacked storage space. We liked the aesthetics: the marble walls, floors and seat were perfect; the frameless glass and the mirrors create an open feel. But we certainly did not care to use our seat to set shampoos and other products.

Now there's a nice neat place for everything, and only the person in the shower can see it.

LOVE THIS PRODUCT!
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Elena A.
Montvale, NJ
Jun 22, 2010
Smedbo DK3001 Sideline Basket
excellent product
We are very happy with this product. We purchased it for our contemporary powder/guest bathroom. It looks great and matches other accessories in our bathroom.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
fastfwd123
Long Island, NY
May 31, 2010
Smedbo 11.625-in House Soap Basket Double Shower Caddy
a great convenience
This is a well designed and well made item that adds convenience to the shower stall or bath. It is a substantial and strong item with an excellent heavy chrome finish. It has enough capacity to hold a number of bath/shower related items. It's simple to install with 2 wall anchors. Well worth the money.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Patti S.
Holdrege, NE
Aug 19, 2009
Smedbo Villa Glass Holder Soap Dish
nice look
I love the look of my new soap dish in my shower remodel. My husband installed it easily.

I was worried about it getting bumped and the glass getting knocked out of the holder and broke, so when we mounted it in the shower, we mounted it in the best place not to get bumped.

How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Wendell T.
New York, NY
Jul 21, 2009
Smedbo B1014 Quadruple Coat Hat Rack Hook
pricey but well made, high quality
If you only have a foot of space, this is perfect. The finish is not gaudy glossy. Minimalist but warm. Simple but not cheap looking. $49 is a high price, but it's perfect.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Kirk S.
Dallas, TX
Jun 24, 2009
Smedbo Cabin Soap Basket Shower Caddy
well constructed
Easy to install and very attractive and usefull addition to the shower.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Kim K.
Omaha, NE
Mar 24, 2009
Smedbo Villa Double Towel Hook
a hook that actually holds your towel or robe
Solid construction; great transitional look
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  


Mar 16, 2009
Smedbo BK073 Single Hook
nice hook, but smaller than expected
Nice design and a beautiful hook, but smaller than I thought it would be. Make sure you check out the dimensions before you buy to make sure it's what you want. Other than that, it's small, but sturdy. Perfect for hooking a towel or robe near a shower. Doesn't take up much room.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
2 of 4 people found this review helpful
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Email Sign Up

Don't miss our design tips, savings and special offers! Join the ATGStores.com email list!

Give Us Feedback

(Optional)
Get Help
Call Us: 1-888-500-9541
Customer Service is based in Washington State.
Live Chat
Get live, personalized customer service.
Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST   Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST



Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
1001
©1999 - 2014  ATGStores.com.
Copyright notice | By using this site you agree to our Terms & Conditions of Use and Privacy Statement
Server: WWW111 Created On: 9/21/2014 7:10:54 AM