1.888.500.9541
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
Live Chat
Reviews for First Watch Security 1148 Passage Door Latch Set
Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest
Average Customer Review
4 out of 5
Read all 23 customer reviews
Write a Review

23 reviews



Apr 20, 2012
nice looking handle, does not fit standard door
These handles look great. I would have easily given them 5 stars if they fit a standard door bore hole, but they do not. The nails in the rosette are 2 inches apart and a standard bore hole is 2 1/8 inches. I had to buy bore hole inserts online in order for them to fit. But for the price, it was still cheaper to do that then order different glass handles.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Toby M.
Nampa, ID
Dec 04, 2014
door knob
Didn't fit my door but it's all good. Shipped quickly and was exactly what i ordered. No issues at all and i will be ordering from this company again.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Barbara M.
Franklin, OH
Nov 25, 2014
nice door knobs but need to be for non cut doors
They are not for existing doors, they need to be used on non cut doors
Was this review helpful to you?  
Howard B.
Morganville, NJ
Nov 25, 2014
nice quality. looks great since i have multilples. tricky if existing doors have locks an
The existing holes were too large for these to screw the knobs on. I had to fabricate a round filler block and glue into the lock hole. The plate covered all. Then treat the install as almost a new lock and redrill. The first one took longer because I had to solve the issue. The second went much faster.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Aimee D.
Bertram, TX
Oct 24, 2014
inexpensive glass door knobs
These were nice door knobs to use around the less seen areas of our house. We bought more expensive door knobs for other areas of the house. These worked well.
How would you rank the instructions?
Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Ronald M.
Waynesville, NC
Oct 08, 2014
very good reproduction
We needed these for replacement for our 100+ year old church classroom doors. They worked perfectly, and I would say function, finish and fit were very good to perfect. A couple of minor details would have made them 5 star. But, certainly they did the job and we were fortunate to be able to get them, and they were not cost prohibitive....an excellent value for the money.. Delivery was great.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Jayne J.
Madison, VA
Sep 19, 2014
adjustment needed to install knobs
These beautiful knob sets do not include the usual "sleeve" as part of the rosette. In order for the installation screws to have something to screw into, my installer had to put blocks in the doors and it made it harder to keep the sets level in the hole. It is fixable, but the purchaser needs to know this will be necessary when using this hardware on already-drilled-doors. The website picture is accurate, but I did not know enough to recognize the design issue when I ordered them. If I had not had a carpenter here for other work, I would have had to return the hardware.
How would you rank the instructions?
Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Sheri S.
Lincoln, NE
Sep 15, 2014
title for your review*
I received my product very quickly. Ordering was easy. I love the quality of the door knobs I rodered, however, they are not the right size and I will probably be returning unless I can figure out how to install.
How would you rank the instructions?
Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Donna R.
Frisco, TX
Aug 26, 2014
these are beautiful
So glad I ordered the crystal over just satin nickle, it makes the door look so much more special.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Catharine L.
Alpine, TX
Aug 26, 2014
how to brighten up a room
I bought these glass door sets to replace these 1970s dull, boring, ugly door sets in my rental house. It is an old house with lots of ugly installed over the years. These glass door knobs really brightened up the whole house. I would totally recommend them. Best purchase I have made all year.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Cara S.
Boonville, IN
Aug 25, 2014
great hardware
The handle is an excellent quality handle. The finish is exactly what we thought. Very good deal for the price.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Leto Q.
Boulder, CO
Aug 11, 2014
great solution for the price
I am at the tail end of a big whole-home renovation, and was delighted to find this budget-friendly doorknob set as I create my decorative finishing touches. I have installed them throughout the house now; the look is classic and so far, they feel like they will hold up well (I've only been using them for about a week). But, as other reviewers have mentioned, installation in a standard bore door requires a little creativity because of the way the screws on the rosettes are configured. Still the extra time and modest extra cost of making these work was well worth the savings compared to other products at 4-6x the cost for the same cosmetic and functional end result.
How would you rank the instructions?
Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Tracy W.
Clayton, NC
Aug 06, 2014
title for your review*
Good value. Glass knob heavy to feel. Great for what I needed. Hard to find brushed nickel finish.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Michele
Middleboro, MA
Jul 14, 2014
nice knobs
I bought these in Satin Nickel finish, definitely best value for the buck compared to the big-box DIY stores. After reading other reviews I also bought item 1165-SN (bore adapters) so that these would fit my (standard) pre-drilled doors. If you need a bore adapter, try another one that does come with pre-drilled holes - the item I got does not.

These are easy to install, just be sure to loosen the "set screw" on the knobs before attempting to tighten or you may run into the issue one reviewer had (someone said they had to cut the knob shaft as it was too long - they must not have loosened the set screws) these are standard length shafts, and tighten nicely.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Mary S.
Chatham, MA
Feb 27, 2014
fabulous replacement set
I have an old house with wooden doors. These are an excellent replacement set that installs easily and fit perfectly. These are NOT designed for pre-drilled doors. But for my wooden doors they perfect, and are the right style and finish. 5 minutes to install!
Just ordered 5 more passage sets for the house.
Free shipping is a plus.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Jamie L B.
Milltown, NJ
Feb 13, 2014
great product!!
This it exactly what I was looking for to update my old knobs!
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Joann R.
Redford, MI
Feb 07, 2014
service and value
The door knob was exactly what I needed. It was not only a good price but was delivered in good condidtion and in a timely manor. Thank you for providing a good product.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Regie C.
Winnsboro, LA
Feb 05, 2014
nice old looking door knob.
It is what it says it is and what I was looking for. Works great for my door in my old home.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Allie P.
Wichita, KS
Jan 16, 2014
need to provide adapters for modern doors
Decent product. I was unable to find adapters mentioned in previous reviews, so I had to fabricate some wooden blocks to screw the covers on to.
How would you rank the instructions?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Eric L.
Oceanside, NY
Jan 06, 2014
first watch security glass latch set
This door knob set does not fit the standard size- pre cut doors.
Also, there is no inner mechanism, only a threaded rod with set screws. The rod is too long for a standard door width & has to cut to size. The two holes in the mounting plates do not fit the door holes. I had to make door hole inserts to screw into.
How would you rank the instructions?
Not Good
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Not Good
How would you rank the overall product value?
Not Good
Was this review helpful to you?  
Vicki P.
Savannah, GA
Aug 13, 2013
great product
I am very happy with this product. I only had one issue which was the existing opening for the door handle. The opening was slightly larger than the replacement knobs. Measure the medallion before ordering to make sure it will fit. They look great easily installed overall I am very happy with this product.
How would you rank the instructions?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Ralph B.
West Islip, NY
Dec 18, 2012
will not fit doors with pre drilled door knob openings
This set up won't work for the typical doors that you buy at a home improvement store with the pre drilled openings for door knobs. I think they are designed for older doors that have just a small opening for the spindle. I wish they would tell you that before you order or at least offer an adapter that can make it usable.

They're nice, just don't assume they'll work for you.
How would you rank the instructions?
Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Jamie
Pittsburgh
Nov 17, 2012
very satisfied
I've been considering replacing all my door knobs for some time and I finally did and couldnt be happier. Reading the only review with two stars concerned me. It stated that they didnt fit "regular" doors. I live in an older house and every door is different. I found a way to install every knob just the way it came. They truly are beautiful. I ordered twelve of them, it was free shipping and they arrived in two days. I am very satisfied. The price was also a plus and better than I've seen anywhere else.
How would you rank the instructions?
Below Average
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Email Sign Up

Don't miss our design tips, savings and special offers! Join the ATGStores.com email list!

Give Us Feedback

(Optional)
Get Help
Call Us: 1-888-500-9541
Customer Service is based in Washington State.
Live Chat
Get live, personalized customer service.
Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST   Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST



Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
1001
©1999 - 2014  ATGStores.com.
Copyright notice | Site Map | By using this site you agree to our Terms & Conditions of Use and Privacy Statement
Server: EASTWEB121 Created On: 12/19/2014 5:58:16 PM