1.888.500.9541
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
Live Chat
Reviews for Pearl Mantels 412 Shenandoah Fireplace Mantel/Shelf
Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest
Average Customer Review
5 out of 5
Read all 17 customer reviews
Write a Review

17 reviews

Matt S.
Roanoke, TX
Dec 06, 2011
great mantel, especially for the price!
I bought this in the 72" size, unfinished. I was afraid that it would not have the "distressed" look that is advertised for the stained version, but it did! Once stained, it has a very nice, rustic finish and looks AMAZING above the fireplace. Very classy, yet rustic.

Came out of the box 100% clean and ready to stain. No saw dust, no dirt, just open box and stain away. 3 coats of stain-&-poly and it was ready to go.

Be aware: the mantel is not a solid piece of wood as you might expect. In fact, it is actually assembled from 5 pieces (3 long pieces to form the main shape, and 2 end cap pieces). I was worried that the edges would reveal this, but after staining, you simply can't tell. It looks incredible, and it actually rather light which makes it easy to mount on the wall.

I would definitely recommend this mantel.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Doris D.
St. Petersburg, FL
Mar 02, 2009
shenandoah mantle shelf
I waited 5 years to get a mantle shelf and this was worth the wait! It is BEAUTIFUL! Exactly what I wanted, chunky, high quality, easy to install. And... I got it exactly when I was told I was going to receive it. I needed it installed over 2 layers of porcelain tile so I had my contractor do it but, a good do-it-yourselfer would have no problem installing this shelf.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
barry b.
winston-salem, NC
Oct 09, 2008
pleased with product
Very pleased with mantel we received. Good price and shipped quickly. Good experience!!!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Charles D.
Waterloo, IA
Dec 11, 2014
mantel pearl 412 unfinished
The Mantel came well packed .
I finished it in a Chestnut finish and it looks great.
Use a Minwax Pre-stain first, before you stain,because this is made from three pieces of pine
and if you don't it will not look like one peice of wood.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
How would you rate the product instructions?
Average
Was the product packaged well?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you?  
James T.
Park Ridge, IL
Dec 10, 2014
shenandoah mantel shelf
Looks very nice on the wall above our fireplace, just in time to hang the stocking for Christmas.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
How would you rate the product instructions?
Almost Perfect
Was the product packaged well?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you?  
Kevin L.
Palmyra, VA
Aug 26, 2013
good looking mantel
We looked for an attractive, easy to install mantel for months before selecting this one. It looks great and was very easy to install. Very sturdy.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
How would you rate the product instructions?
Excellent
Was the product packaged well?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you?  
Matthew S.
Londonderry, NH
Dec 26, 2012
great value, but could use some improvements
I had purchased this mantel unfinished as my wife an I wanted to stain it a specific color. Overall, I am very impressed with the craftsmanship of the product. However, one problem we ran into was with staining. Although it may not be obvious from the description, this is not a solid piece of wood. It is multiple pieces mitered, glued, and nailed together. The nail holes were filled with a non-stainable filler. As a result, there are some spotty areas where it did not take the color. Luckily, they are on the ends where few people would notice.

Lastly, I wish there was a better way to hang the mantel. It uses a traditional method of using a hidden cleat which you secure to the wall and literally hang the mantel. While this works well, it does not feel very solid. I will probably have to add some additional fasteners directly to the mantel to make it more stable.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
How would you rate the product instructions?
Excellent
Was the product packaged well?
Yes
Was this review helpful to you?  
Stephen B.
Tigard, OR
Jan 09, 2012
eased apprehension of ordering on-line
Spending $250 On-line with an out-of-state company that you have never heard of can be daunting. However, I was absolutely delighted with the professionalism shown by Lighting Universe. I was kept in the loop (by e-mail)from the moment my order was placed. I could track my package and even over the Holiday period, it arrived at my door exactly as predicted.

I was pleased too with the quality of the merchandise. I had read other reviews and was already expecting a box type structure and that it was made in China... Not an issue for me, a coat of stain and a few coats of poly and it looks stunning.

I did have an issue with the hanging system provided - probably my wall was uneven, so I built a simple frame from regular wall studs and slipped the shelf onto it.

Overall Delighted with service & quality. May be a tad expensive for a pine box, but it's nicely jointed and finishes up well even without sanding down.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Kim M.
EVANS, GA
Dec 12, 2011
review of 412 - the shenandoah shelf
Delivery was within a couple days of the order! It looks heavy but is very lightweight so easy to stain, finish and mount. It is beautiful over the fireplace I love it!!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Daniel W.
Laurel, MD
Nov 21, 2011
love the mantel... looks beautiful!
Only problem I have with this mantel is... Made in China! I may not have bought it had I known. Still, it looks beautiful on our fireplace.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Mikinzie S.
Monticello, IA
Nov 18, 2011
great product!!
This mantle is beautiful! Has a rustic look which compliments our fieldstone fireplace surround. Love it!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Melinda C.
Friendswood, TX
Jul 01, 2011
hill country beautiful!
It's going in a Texas hill country style facility on a tall stone fireplace. Looks polished and rustic at the same time. Gives a custom look without the custom price!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Nancy C.
Killingworth, CT
Jun 18, 2011
fireplace mantel shelf
The mantel shelf arrived in just a few days and in great condition. Excellent value, great look!!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Mark L.
Shoreline, WA
Jun 12, 2011
client loves it!
Actual product is exactly as described. Looks great. Arrived with no damage and faster than expected. Would definitely purchase this line of products again.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Bob M.
Woodinville, WA
Jan 25, 2011
would buy again
Very nice mantle and easy to install. Only problem was the sharp edge when trying to screw in the bolsters, hands still healing.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Barbara M.
Cazenovia, NY
Aug 03, 2010
We were very pleased with our mantel. It looks great with our stone work and we have it recessed slightly and chose not to use the corbels.
We love it.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Heather H.
New London, NH
May 14, 2010
shenandoah shelf mantel
Looks beautiful. Really completes field stone background perfectly.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Email Sign Up

Don't miss our design tips, savings and special offers! Join the ATGStores.com email list!

Give Us Feedback

(Optional)
Get Help
Call Us: 1-888-500-9541
Customer Service is based in Washington State.
Live Chat
Get live, personalized customer service.
Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST   Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST



Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
1001
©1999 - 2014  ATGStores.com.
Copyright notice | Site Map | By using this site you agree to our Terms & Conditions of Use and Privacy Statement
Server: WWW111 Created On: 12/18/2014 12:34:58 PM