1.888.500.9541
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
Live Chat
Reviews for Maxim Lighting 5842 3 Light Basix Flush Mount Ceiling Light
Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest
Average Customer Review
3.5 out of 5
Read all 23 customer reviews
Write a Review

23 reviews

Bradley C.
Billings, MT
Nov 24, 2007
poor construction.
The center post that came with the light that holds the glass dome on, was too short to allow the decorative nut to screw on.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Mike A.
Ames, IA
Mar 01, 2011
poor quality, poor customer service
I ordered this fixture based on the photo. The photo does not show that the glass is see-through when the lights are on. When I unwrapped the package, the glass still did not seem to be see-through. I installed the light and turned the fixture on with three 60 watt bulbs inside. I found that the glass was defiantly see-through. It looked terrible; you could see the bolt in the middle, each bulb and the writing on the inside of the fixture. I called customer service and spoke with two people, one being a supervisor. Speaking with both people I was told there was nothing that could be done since the fixture was installed and a return would not be accepted. I told them how unsatisfied I was with the product and how it did not detail the in the description about the glass being see-through or did not show that in the photo. I asked the supervisor if there have been problems like this in the past and he replied, yes. I then asked why they did not do anything about the problem and he said it was a cheaper fixture and it sells. I ended the conversation telling the supervisor I would tell everyone including my local contractor not to use this company as their customer service and products were not acceptable. I later found a fixture for $10 cheaper that was better quality at my local home improvement center.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Not Good
How would you rank the overall product value?
Not Good
Was this review helpful to you?  
Christina C.
Piggott, AR
Sep 05, 2007
great light
Works well so far (has only been installed two weeks). It is an attractive light for the cost.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Mark P.
Chester, VA
Jul 07, 2007
junk, light base much to large for a 3
I received the Bay Shore Post Mount light, and tried to mount it on my 3" post...the light base was much to big for the pole...I called Lighting Universe and they told me that was normal...just center up the screws and it will be fine...Unreal, I asked if I could return it and they hit me with a 25% restocking fee and shipping for something that's the manufacturing companys problem..I paid over $200.00 for this light and I would think that it would fit a little better...I'm now getting a machinist to make a brass bushing to make the light fit proper for a normal 3" post...Not a very good purchase for me...People or product...Thanks for asking for my review to help others out...I wish that I would of read something like this before I made my purchase...because I would have never made it..
Was this review helpful to you?  
Rob J.
Central Washington State
Nov 10, 2011
lights worked out fine for us.
The lights are fine, the "antique bronze" looks like micro metallic brown paint, but it looks good on the ceiling, the glass worked out well, it looks nice, and is pretty with the light on or off. The fixtures have ceramic sockets, which seems good to me, not plastic! The brackets that hold the sockets are very thin metal, but apparently enough to hold the sockets and lamps.
Overall, a good value. We are happy with our purchase.
It is hard to take a photograph of a light that is on, so the one with the light on is a very dim setting, when it is bright, there are no darker spots.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Patricia K.
Miami, FL
Sep 05, 2014
5 stars
My lamp arrived on time and is fabulous in every way. It is adorning my bathrom ceiling now!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
How would you rank the quality of instructions and ease of installation/set-up?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Cleveland H.
Glen Ellyn, IL
Jan 03, 2013
polished brass flush mount ceiling light
I am very pleased with the Flush Mount Ceiling light that I purchased from this site last month. It coordinates perfectly with the existing room decor---even better than I had originally expected, and it was shipped expeditiously and was received when promised.

Although this is my first order from them, I would highly recommend this site to anyone.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
How would you rank the quality of instructions and ease of installation/set-up?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Janet L N.
Murdock, KS
Dec 26, 2012
great lighting
Arrived on time and in great condition. Love the quality. Will definitely order again.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
How would you rank the quality of instructions and ease of installation/set-up?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Johnathan L.
El Paso, TX
Jul 24, 2011
review of 5842 - basix flush mount
This customer did not write a text review.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Lynn T.
San Antonio, TX
Jun 13, 2011
see-through glass
I liked the look of the lights, but as soon as I flipped the lights on, I realized that you can see through the glass and see the bulbs and wires, etc. I called and got another dome sent to me for free, and it's a bit better, but I'm still disappointed. I can't return it, so I'm hoping I don't notice it that much.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Below Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Below Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Douglas B J.
Houston, TX
Feb 18, 2011
review of 5842 - basix flush mount
This customer did not write a text review.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Mike A.
Iowa
Feb 16, 2011
globe is see through
All though the website photos do not show that the globes are see through they are. I purchased this fixture to go into a new construction and once it was up I noticed when the light was on you can see through the glass globe. I spoke with the unhelpful customer service reps and they said all of the globes would be see through. They would not help me with the situation even after explaining the website or description did not say anything about the globe. A return was not going to be accepted since the fixture had been installed.

Poor glass quality. The quality of the fixture is OK and instructions are OK.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Below Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Not Good
Was this review helpful to you?  
Matt C.
West Richland, WA
Feb 10, 2011
picture misleading
I was trying to match existing lighting. The picture made it appear as if the top was flatter and would have matched. But, the globe doesn't match. I didn't need the base, just the globe. Now we have mis-matched lights. Picture could have had a better angle -- more of a profile.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Laura V.
Fayetteville, AR
Dec 01, 2010
great deal!
This was an extremely well-priced item and exactly what I needed in two rooms of my home. Easy to assemble and puts out incredible light. Made me realize how dirty my laundry room is :)
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
scott g.
seminole, FL
Aug 31, 2010
review of 5842 - basix flush mount
This customer did not write a text review.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
timothy M.
milford, PA
Aug 25, 2010
lack of instrucions
The product is great, but you have to have experience hanging one. There is no parts list or parts numbers and no diagrams.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Kendrick C.
Birmingham, AL
Nov 18, 2009
basix flush monunt
Very easy to setup. I install this flush mount with in 5 minutes. looks great with day light florescent bulbs.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
David G D.
port clinton, OH
Jan 31, 2009
ceiling fixture
We love the fixture but it was difficult to install be the hardware was not right for this product. The screws were not long enough.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Below Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Lenora L.
Cynthiana, KY
Dec 10, 2008
very pleased
I was pleased with the lights and the service has been great from ordering to delivery.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Kaye K.
Senatobia, MS
Nov 18, 2008
just what i was looking for!
It is the color and size we were looking for and it looks great int the bathroom.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Heidi H.
Henderson, NV
Oct 29, 2008
flimsy, but nice
The light is a bit flimsy for the price, but once it is mounted, you can't tell the difference.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
gloria g.
white plains, NY
Sep 05, 2008
great!
A very nice brushed nickel-finished fixture; simplistic in style but substantial in quality and can use up to three 100 watt bulbs-comprable fixtures in area stores look like junk compared to this!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Ann A.
Birmingham, AL
Sep 02, 2008
bham al
Exactly what I was looking to purchase for addition
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Email Sign Up

Don't miss our design tips, savings and special offers! Join the ATGStores.com email list!

Give Us Feedback

(Optional)
Get Help
Call Us: 1-888-500-9541
Customer Service is based in Washington State.
Live Chat
Get live, personalized customer service.
Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST   Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST



Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
1001
©1999 - 2014  ATGStores.com.
Copyright notice | Site Map | By using this site you agree to our Terms & Conditions of Use and Privacy Statement
Server: EASTWEB135 Created On: 12/19/2014 6:05:29 AM