1.888.500.9541
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
LIVE CHAT
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
Reviews for Cal Lighting SL-954-5 5 Light Serpentine Track Lighting Kit
Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest
Average Customer Review
4.5 out of 5
Read all 111 customer reviews
Write a Review

111 reviews

Timothy L.
Reading, PA
Dec 26, 2007
nice looking light.
Very nice light with great looking glass shades. Was easy to install and everything came in one box. What a great value compared to the junk the Lowe's and Home Depot is selling.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Nouna N.
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 03, 2008
blondie
I would suggest installing a dimmer switch with this track light. The five 50 watt halogens get a bit too bright and hot if the light is installed on a lower ceiling. Love the look and style of this fixture.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
S.
Midland, MI
Nov 24, 2007
great deal
Great quality for the price. We have now purchased several more track lights etc. A nice alternative to the ultra contemporary chrome black or white tracks you usually see. Easy to install.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Ashlee N.
Gainesville, TX
Oct 17, 2007
kitchen light
I like this light but the glass shades are kind of small. I thought they would be bigger. Also, they are solid and don't let a lot of light through!
Was this review helpful to you?  
Betsy B.
Springville, PA
Aug 02, 2008
very stylish and lots of options
We wanted a track type lighting system that didn't cost a fortune, had colored glass shades, a dark bronze finish, could accomodate a high sloped ceiling, and lit our kitchen area adequately. This light did it all! It was a little rough to install due to the design and my big fingers but overall it took less than an hour and we are extremely pleased with the look and the light quality. The swivel to accomodate the sloped ceiling and the down rods provided made it possible to place the fixture where we needed it without the expense of buying separate kits. Shipped very fast also.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Aura K.
Bronx, NY
Jul 27, 2007
excellent experience on line
Both the fixture and service were more than I expected.
Good price, easy to find what I wanted and easy to order.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Daniel D.
Downingtown, PA
Sep 19, 2008
did the trick
The lights are really nice installed but putting the bulbs in the sockets was difficult. The bulbs flop around in the socket even when locked in. It's fine if you never have to replace the bulbs but I'd be worried if I did.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Laura L.
Joliet, IL
Jul 29, 2008
pleased with purchase
I found the light to be what I was looking for. It was a great price for what I got.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Robert R.
Miami, FL
Jul 16, 2008
pretty nice
Installed in my home office. A bit of a pain to install the shades and bulbs, but a nice fixture.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Karla K.
Collierville, TN
Jul 02, 2008
love my new kitchen light!
If it doesn't say so in the instructions(my husband put it together) I would advise putting the light bulbs and glass light covers on before hooking it up to the electrical wires. It will be very cumbersome to change lightbulbs!. Also, I have the red light covers which do cast a slightly reddish glow, but not bad. The light has really modernized my kitchen!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Jessie J.
Riley, MI
Jun 24, 2008
satisfied
This product was perfect for our new kitchen and I plan on ordering more light fixtures for the rest of my house through this website.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Cheryl M.
Grass Valley, CA
Apr 02, 2008
great price, simple to install
We ordered this light for our new winecellar and it was great! Very easy to install, all in one box, bulbs and all, and a very good value for the money. It looks just like we wanted it to!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Michael B.
Haverhill, MA
May 09, 2011
run very hot.
Overall the product was as described and arrived in a timely manor. My biggest concern is that the lights get very very hot and have a smell of burning when on. I don't leave them on for too long since I am concerned about the heat and smell. I think the "burn off smell" should be done by now since I have run them for more than a total of ten hours. I will keep an eye on them but am not too trusting when it comes to such heat.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Below Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Thomas R.
Lancaster, PA
Apr 19, 2011
nice fixture
Great product and value. Operates on line voltage (120 volt); it doesn’t require a transformer that can burn out.
Assembly is easy and the glass shades give off a nice glow. I would recommend installing a dimmer switch to control the level of light to suit your preference. Shipping was a bit slow and one of the glass shades was broken but on the up-side, customer service was great and promptly arranged for a replacement shade that arrived quickly.
I would definitely buy from them again.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
james J.
Yardley, PA
Jul 11, 2009
combination of style and quality
This track package was the perfect for our multi-purpose play/office area. Although contemporary in appearance it is simple enough to fit well in our Craftsman style home.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Rebecca D.
Cleveland, OH
Jun 04, 2009
five light serpentine
This product is very nice. We installed it on a beam over the island in our kitchen and it looks terrific. However, the halogen lights are very bright, and tend to shine in my eyes. I plan to install a dimmer on the switch which should help the problem, but I wish I had considered having it hang a bit lower. We did not leave the wires long enough to alter it now. If possible, I suggest activating it before the permanent installation is completed and trying different heights.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Al A.
N/A
Feb 11, 2009
good product
Assembly instructions are the weakest problem with this product. The halogen lights to be inserted are for people with small hands and long fingers, if that is possible. The washers which secure the globes could be a little smoother and easier to install.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Stan S.
St. Augustine, FL
Jan 26, 2009
5-light serpentine light fixture
Color, appearance, & style are what I was looking for. Price seems a bit high. Assembly & installation was easy, assuming you have decent handyman/woman skills. The only part that could use better quality control are the threaded collars that hold the shades in place. Most of them twisted on pretty easy but one was almost impossible to start. I had to remove some very rough edges on the inside threads of the collar itself, followed by cleaning out the threads(using a toothbrush)to get it to start easily on the lamp bulb base. Once I got it started it twisted down just fine. Although this seems like a minor problem, if the collar can't be twisted onto the bulb base, the shade can't be attached to the fixture, leaving one with a fully exposed bulb.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Jessie J.
Chesterfield, MO
Dec 19, 2008
good value
I am mostly satisfied with this product. We ordered the red glass shades. Four out of five of the shades are the same. The fifth is a slightly different shade of red. The design is very sleek and modern - I like it.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Deborah D.
New York, NY
Oct 10, 2008
hard to screw in
The fixture is lovely, but it is difficult to affix the glass globes to the structure - they have to be screwed on inside the glass - which is difficult to do when the structure is mounted. My electrician and I had to take the structure down, and even then it was tricky to screw the bulbs on. I do not look forward to changing the light bulbs.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Janet Z.
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 12, 2014
beautiful fixture for my new kitchen
Love the look of this fixture. I was concerned when I ordered about the fragility of the glass shades but they are actually quite thick (dual layer of colored glass on the outside and thick white inner glass) so quite sturdy, and they came very well packed. Not really difficult to install but haven't had to change any bulbs yet--be sure to retain the rubber "bulb changer" and the "key" in a safe place, they really helped with installation. I do have this on a dimmer but I don't find it overly bright even at full strength in my small kitchen. I have the red/black swirl shades and they do give a bit of a reddish tinge to the radient light, but within the spot of each lamp the light is fine.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
How would you rank the quality of instructions and ease of installation/set-up?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Jennifer C.
Oviedo, FL
Aug 22, 2013
well worth the wait
It took several months for this light to ship (was backordered repeatedly) but it was well worth the wait. It is a beautiful addition to my kitchen. It seems to be well made and was easy to install. The quality is much better than other fixtures I have purchased in the last year.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
How would you rank the quality of instructions and ease of installation/set-up?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
James M. M.
Lake Mary, FL
Aug 12, 2013
nice look, soft light.
We got the white with amber shades and like the overall look. The shades are smaller than expected, even after reading that in reviews. Be sure to install the bulbs before putting the fixture up and keep the small device for putting in the bulbs. This replaced another track light and went up easily. The only down side is that even with 5 lights, it is not very bright. The light is soft and subdued. Since we put it in our kitchen eating area it is a nice contrast to our bright kitchen lights, but not what we expected. We no longer need to use a dimmer.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the quality of instructions and ease of installation/set-up?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Larry G.
Westport, WA
Dec 24, 2012
track lighting
It was easy to install and it works and looks great. I am thinking on buying another one.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the quality of instructions and ease of installation/set-up?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Amy R.
NY
Dec 13, 2012
great light!
This light was purchased for a kitchen remodel. It gives off great light and I am able to point the lights in any direction I need to. This is the perfect light and we couldn't be happier. Great value too!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
How would you rank the quality of instructions and ease of installation/set-up?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
steve darrin k.
saint bonifacius, MN
Nov 28, 2012
excellent light
Quality light. easy to install. some reviews people complain about installing the shades and the bulbs but i had no problem with the tools that are provided.worth the price. very attractive light
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
How would you rank the quality of instructions and ease of installation/set-up?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Peggy L.
Rockford, IL
Aug 10, 2012
excellent purchase
Purchased track lighting kit for our kitchen. It was received in reasonable time, and in good condition. My husband and I installed it ourselves and found the directions easy to follow. We love our new lighting and would not hesitate to buy from this company in the future.
Was this review helpful to you?  
Robert T.
Dunnellon, FL
May 18, 2012
cal lighting sl-954-5 5 light serpentine
Received item as expected...looks and works great. I'm installing a dimmer, 250 watts is bright and emits a lot of heat. The brigtness and heat issues are not negative comments about this fixture, just basic physics. The same issues would apply with any 250 watt fixture. One nice thing about this fixture is the heat is not concentrated around the junction box. I've seen wiring in boxes that cracked when bent due to over heating...not an issue with this fixture.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Jael H.
Papillion, NE
Mar 28, 2012
looks great... took a long time to get... instructions left a lot to be desired
Looks Great... Took a Long Time To Get... Instructions Left a Lot To Be Desired
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
ilyse R N.
Plainview, NY
Mar 25, 2012
great transitional wall lighting
If you want to get away from track lighting but want to light a room with a great transitional wall or ceiling mount wall fixture this fixture is it. i looked at a ton and this fixture looked great on line but even
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Yauhen C.
Pelham, NH
Mar 23, 2012
review of cal lighting sl-954-5 5 light serpentine track lighting kit
Made cheap but looks great !!! would buy another one
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Email Sign Up

Don't miss our design tips, savings and special offers! Join the ATGStores.com email list!

Give Us Feedback

(Optional)
Get Help
Call Us: 1-888-500-9541
Customer Service is based in Washington State.
Live Chat
Get live, personalized customer service.
Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST   Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST



Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
1001
©1999 - 2014  ATGStores.com.
Copyright notice | By using this site you agree to our Terms & Conditions of Use and Privacy Statement
Server: EASTWEB125 Created On: 9/23/2014 3:41:11 AM