1.888.500.9541
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PSTSat-Sun 5am-8pm PST
LIVE CHAT
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PSTSat-Sun 5am-8pm PST

Reviews for Minka Aire F517 52-in Concept™ I Ceiling Fan

Sort By: Most Helpful | Newest
Average Customer Review
4 out of 5
Read all 18 customer reviews
Write a Review

18 reviews


N/A
Jul 10, 2008
minka air model 517 fan review
The fan is nicely constructed, easy to assemble - however, when the fan operates, it makes a wosh -wosh - wosh ----- sound. Fans make a noise when operated at high speed but have a constant sound as the air rushes though the blades. This is not a constant and is not nice to sleep with. Called the manufacturer and they ran a test and agreed the fan makes this odd sound. I suspect the shape of the blade edges causes the noise. Would not suggest buying it.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Not Good
Was this review helpful to you?  
Steve W.
Gilbert, AZ
Sep 25, 2009
love the fan
I've purchased and installed dozens of fans in my lifetime, but this is the first time I've ever purchased a minkaAire fan. The quality, beautiful finish and superior engineering was evident when I first opened the box. The fan is beautiful, perfectly balanced and makes ZERO noise. I wish I had discovered minkaAire years ago. I'll never purchase another fan from the local hardware store. Thank you, Lighting Universe and minkaAire!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Max M.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Oct 16, 2008
worth the money
Innovative blade attachment design - very easy to assemble. High quality product.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Emmett E.
Bradenton, FL
Jul 17, 2008
concept i fan
This fan was quite easy to install and looks great. I have had no problems and like the inclusion of the remote with the fan kit.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Jennifer J.
New Port, KY
Jun 26, 2008
jennifer
We were hesitant to purchase online a product that we did not see in person. This fan exceeded our expectation. We wanted a clean, simple, modern look and got it. We also got a fan that looks more expensive than it is. We also like that you have the choice of installing or not installing the light (we needed some of each) while maintaining a finished look.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Paulette K.
Tucson, AZ
Apr 16, 2008
very happy with the price, delivery, product
The fan has only 3 blades (my previous fan had 5). nevertheless, the three blades are tilted and produce a nice flow of cool air. A great product for a great price.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Rajni V.
Kendall Park, NJ
Aug 03, 2011
fan has problems
The installation instructions are unclear. We are not able to turn off the light and keep the fan on. The light has to stay on for the fan to be on. We are very disappointed.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Below Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Not Good
Was this review helpful to you?  
Cynthia K.
Yardley, PA
Jul 07, 2011
love it!
I was looking for a modern style that would compliment our mid century decor and this fan does that nicely! I hired a handy man to hang this and he said that it was well made and easy to install.

Others had mentioned that there was woble. I wonder if they had used the balancing kit that was included in the box. We did not need to.

When the fan is on high speed there is a whoosh noise that the blades make as they cut through the air. This is caused by the angle that the blades are on. I don't think it is a big deal. If you don't want the noise you may consider a style that has a flat blade.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  

Chicago IL
Dec 06, 2010
do not buy a fan from minka aire
If you want to be able to reverse this fan you can not have a dimmer anywhere near it or on the same circuit. This is a design flaw of Minka Aire that must be addressed, other fan manufactures do not have this flaw. Don't buy it if you want it to be able to reverse!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Not Good
How would you rank the overall product value?
Not Good
Was this review helpful to you?  
Daiquiri S.
Chicago, IL
Sep 01, 2009
looks great, works great!
I am really happy with this fan purchase. It looks even better in person than it does in the photo. We bought two of them. Not only do they look good, but they are easy to operate and really cool off the the room. While the minka fans are pricey, I felt that the fan was worth the money. I'm really pleased!

How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Kevin K.
Fontana, CA
Jul 27, 2008
for a kewl summer ahead ...
Good value for the dollar along with many neat features. I bought (2) fans & my purchase has paid off ...
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Lin
Maryland
Feb 26, 2014
minka aire 3-blade fans
I bought 2 of them to replace and update the lighted-fans in my kitchen and family room. My husband and I are so disappointed because the fans are beautiful but the light is pitiful. Both rooms are now dark after dusk because the lights extends downward and the ceilings are totally dark, even when I use the remote to push the lights to their maximum level. Did we really need fans is now the question. We may put them in bedrooms, and replace them with down lights. If you want to buy them for half the price, I will sell them to you!!!! Our rooms are fairly large, which may be the root of our problem!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Not Good
How would you rank the quality of Instructions and ease of installation/set-up?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Priscilla C.
Tarrytown, NY
Nov 03, 2011
great fan
Love this fan; is beautiful; efficient and very quiet.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Average
How would you rank the overall product value?
Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Melinda m.
Chicago, IL
Mar 15, 2011
review of f517 - concept™ i ceiling fan
This customer did not write a text review.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
Srdan Z.
Austin, TX
Mar 11, 2011
very nice looking fan
If I could change one thing, that would be the coating on the blades. I've got a white option, and I'm afraid that the coating will attract more than average amounts of dust. Remains to be seen.
Otherwise, very nice looking fan!
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Almost Perfect
How would you rank the overall product value?
Almost Perfect
Was this review helpful to you?  
JIm T.
Pt Roberts, WA
Feb 23, 2011
review of f517 - concept™ i ceiling fan
This customer did not write a text review.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  
Judy E. M.
Lansing, NY
Feb 07, 2011
review of f517 - concept™ i ceiling fan
This customer did not write a text review.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Excellent
Was this review helpful to you?  


Aug 20, 2009
weak fan
We have this fan installed outdoors on a small porch. While it looks good, it doesn't move enough air. I rarely turn it on now. I don't know if longer blades are available? I definitely would NOT recommend this fan.
How would you rank the overall product quality?
Excellent
How would you rank the overall product value?
Below Average
Was this review helpful to you?  
Your Recently Viewed Items
You have no recently viewed items. After viewing product detail pages or search results, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to products you are interested in.
Your Recommended Items

You currently have no recommended items. Browse a few more items to give us an idea of what you like.
Email Sign Up

Don't miss our design tips, savings, and special offers! Join the ATG Stores email list

Give Us Feedback

(Optional)
Get Help
Call Us:1-888-500-9541
Customer service is based in Washington state
Live Chat
Get live personalized customer service
Hours of Operation:
Mon-Fri 4am-10pm PST   Sat-Sun 5am-8pm PST



Don't miss any exclusive insider deals & coupons.
1001
©1999 - 2014ATGStores.com.
Copyright notice | By using this site you agree to our Terms & Conditions of Use and Privacy Statement
Server: WEB15 Created On: 7/23/2014 5:00:27 AM